Blackberry Lemonade

27 Jun

Wow. Things have been busy, huh? June just kind of disappeared on me there. My focus was so much on starting the new job that the first 20 days of the month just whizzed by, and then the new job started, so I’m trying to re-adjust to a 9-5 life again.

But things happened in June. I know they did. Let’s see…in June, I:

1. Finally finished unpacking at my new apartment.

2. Watched a sweet short dance film made by my sister.

3. Watched the Cardinals lose two awful games against the Nats (swept by the Nats?? Really, Cardinals?? Pull it together.)

4. Bought tickets to see the midnight showing of Harry Potter. Yeah, that is happening. I’ve never done it before, I figured I needed to fully commit to this last movie.

5. Got assaulted by a glitter-covered friend at the Pride Parade (but didn’t get punched in the face by him this year…unlike last year.)

6. Cut off all my hair. That was a big one.

7. Watched my new boss get sworn into her position. And then got sworn in myself when I started work the next Monday.

8. Got caught in a crazy rainstorm on my way to hear some Jazz in the Park, complete with a great rainbow.

9. Went tubing for the first time ever. And planned to make some amazing blackberry lemonade to take with me down the river. But then got inexplicably ill the morning of the tubing adventure and barely made it out of bed in time to catch the bus to West Virginia. So instead I made the blackberry lemonade the next day. It was still pretty great. The fruit flies in my apartment loved it.

No lemons were harmed in the making of this post. Well, okay, maybe a few lemons. Their sacrifice was worth it.

I’m still trying to figure out the best way to bake/cook/take pictures in my new apartment. There aren’t windows in my kitchen. It’s sort of a problem.

Blackberry Lemonade
Adapted from Food Network Magazine
Serves 4

Print this recipe!

Simple Syrup:
¾ cup granulated sugar
¾ cup water

Lemonade:
1 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice
1 cup simple syrup
1 cup blackberries
1 cup water
ice cubes

Stir together ¾ cup water and ¾ cup sugar in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring to dissolve all the sugar. Remove from heat and let cool. There’s a reason it’s called simple syrup, people.

In a pitcher (or bowl, if you actually don’t own a pitcher at this point in your life…) muddle together blackberries and simple syrup. I used the back of a wooden spoon. (If you want to use a little less simple syrup to start and check on the sweetness level as you go, I felt like a full cup was a little too sweet. Just depends on how you like your lemonade though.) Stir in 1 cup water and 1 cup fresh lemon juice. Add ice and serve, preferably whilst floating down a river. I won’t tell anyone if you add a little vodka to it…

2 Responses to “Blackberry Lemonade”

  1. Amber June 28, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    Love your hair! I have the same cut, but can never get mine to style like that. Would you be willing to share your styling secrets?!?!?! Oh, durh…. the lemonade looks great as well 😉

    • Ella @ The Single Girl's Kitchen June 29, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

      thanks! so, the picture is from the day i got it cut, so it was done by my stylist and thus looks better than i’m able to do myself. i’ve still be able to get it pretty close though, and it’s not hard at all. i use garnier surf hair paste, just run it through damp hair, then i blow dry my hair, and the goal is just to blow dry it every which way. i blow the sides forward in front of my ears (since i have those fake side burn things…) then i blow dry the front/bangs section straight forward, backward, and to either side, focusing on blowing it to the opposite side from where i’ll eventually part it (so it sweeps to the right, but i focus on blow drying it to the left…it works for some reason.) then i blow dry the rest of the long top part, mostly pushing it back and forth, a deep part one way, a deep part the other way, occasionally blow drying it straight back or straight forward. when it’s almost all dry, i blow dry it all in the direction i want it to end up. then i finish up with a little more styling paste on the dry hair to get a sort of piecey look, and to make sure it all stays in the general direction i want it to. (i think i made it sound more complicated than it is…)
      also a disclaimer: my hair is naturally very straight and fine, so i imagine if you did this same process with more textured hair you’d end up with a ‘fro. just a warning.

Leave a Reply

