Raspberry Glazed Salmon

15 Jun

It’s my last week of unemployment before I start my new job next Monday. Hard to believe that it’s been six months of not working a 9-5. I imagine it’s going to be a little bit of an adjustment, I’m so used to being able to wake up when I feel like it, go to the gym during the day, do my grocery shopping while everyone else is at work, make a nice lunch at home, then go in and work evenings at the restaurant.

But I’m really excited. And my bank account is even more excited that it will soon see more deposits and fewer large credit card payments.

And my last unemployed week is shaping up to be really great. Last night I went with a group of friends to see the Cardinals play the Nats (they managed to blow a five run lead and then walk home the winning run. It wasn’t pretty). We’ve got some gorgeous weather for a softball game tonight, always a highlight of the week, even if I haven’t been hitting very well this season. Tomorrow night is Ladies Night at Nationals Park, so a big group of girls are heading over for free drinks, food, manicures, and massages before watching the Cards win (hopefully). And then Friday is my new boss’ swearing-in ceremony and reception, after which I’m hoping to make it over to Jazz in the Park with some friends.

And while I’m a little nervous that starting a new job will mean I’ll have a hard time finding time to cook and bake, I realize that I’m actually more productive when I’m busy than when I have a lot of free time. It’s so easy to think that because I have free time, all this stuff will obviously get done, but then it never does. Whereas when I’m busy, I just get on a roll and knock a billion projects out in a week. But I will miss being able to cook lunch at home. I made this salmon for lunch twice last week because a) it is delicious and b) I had an absurd amount of raspberries I needed to use.

Luckily, it’s a really quick and easy dish, so I’m sure I’ll make it many more times for dinner this summer. Plus, hardly any dishes to wash: just one bowl for the glaze, and a baking sheet for the salmon (which I line with aluminum foil, so that shortens cleanup time even more).

I actually stopped eating salmon for quite a while because I got bored with it, but then I remembered how awesome the raspberry/salmon flavor combination is, and it’s back in my cooking rotation. Sometimes you just have to completely ditch the recipes you make too often and start doing something new.

Raspberry Glazed Salmon
Serves 2

Print this recipe!

½ cup fresh raspberries (about 15)
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tsp honey
pinch of salt
2 small salmon fillets

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
In a small bowl, mash raspberries with a fork. Add balsamic vinegar, honey and salt. Stir/mash it all together. It’ll be about the consistency of jam.

Grease baking sheet with a little bit of oil. Place salmon fillets on baking sheet, skin side down, and put a big spoonful of raspberry glaze on top of each. Spread glaze around to cover the top and sides of the fillets. Set aside the extra glaze for later. (NOTE: Be sure that you don’t touch the salmon with the spoon you are using for the glaze. You don’t want to contaminate the bowl of extra glaze with raw salmon, because you are using it later and it won’t be cooked to kill those germs.)

Bake salmon in oven for 20 minutes. Remove from oven and top with the rest of the glaze. For an extra touch, you can garnish with a few more whole fresh raspberries.

One Response to “Raspberry Glazed Salmon”

  1. Carol June 16, 2011 at 6:54 am #

    Can’t wait to try this out Friday night!

Leave a Reply

