Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Pancakes

23 May

Sometimes working in a restaurant is great. Like the brunch shift this weekend: just busy enough so that the time goes by quickly, but not so crazy that the waiters get mad at me because they don’t want to take any more tables, and customers are angry because I said 30 minutes and it’s been 40… (Side note: maybe other restaurants have some magic formula for this, but mine does not. So, I’m pretty much just making an educated guess about how long your wait is going to be. If I say 30 minutes, but that table that paid an hour ago still hasn’t left, then, well, it might be more than 30 minutes. I can’t control that. So chill out.)

In the end, most of my shifts are fairly uneventful. Friday nights are usually pretty busy, but we’re prepared for that. There was, however, one fateful Wednesday night that did not go well. At all. Some combination of nice weather and an Open Table coupon that was about to expire led to a Friday-night-sized crowd showing up on a Wednesday night. At some point I had to stop seating people even though we had empty tables because the waiters and the kitchen couldn’t handle any more orders. But customers really don’t like being told there’s a wait when they can see empty tables. That night, there were a lot of comped drinks and desserts to make up for the hour-long waits for pide, or the forgotten shishes. Tips were non-existent. No one was happy.

At the end of the night, before I collapsed into bed, I told myself “Dear, you’ve had a rough day. You deserve pancakes for breakfast tomorrow. No, not just pancakes. Chocolate chip pancakes.”

And when I finally managed to drag myself out of bed the next day, feeling somewhat like I’d been hit by a bus, I treated myself to an absurd amount of these delicious pancakes.

I’ve started doing half whole wheat/half all-purpose flour in my pancakes, and I personally can’t really taste that much of a difference. And while it really doesn’t make these at all healthy, I feel slightly better about eating enough pancakes to feed two large men all by myself when there is some whole wheat involved.

And after eating about 12 of these, I spent the rest of the day in a pancake coma. Totally worth it.

Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Buttermilk Pancakes
Adapted from Joy the Baker
Serves 2

Print this recipe!

1 eggs
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
½ cup whole wheat flour
1 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cups buttermilk (or 1 cup milk plus 1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice)
2 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled
1/4 teaspoons vanilla extract
¼ cup chocolate chips

½ cup whipping cream
1 Tbsp powdered sugar
½ tsp vanilla extract

In a medium bowl, beat egg. Add buttermilk, butter, and vanilla extract and mix well. Stir in flours, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt, mixing until mostly smooth (but there should be some lumps. Let the batter sit for a few minutes.

In the meantime, add vanilla and powdered sugar to whipping cream in a medium bowl and beat using an electric mixer until almost stiff.

Heat large skillet (you’ll know it’s ready when you flick some water droplets on it and they immediately sizzle and disappear).

Pour batter onto skillet, about 2-3 tablespoons per pancake. Sprinkle chocolate chips on top. When bubbles begin to pop, flip pancakes. Cook another minute or two, checking to make sure they don’t get too brown. Transfer to a plate. Top with whipped cream and enjoy!

One Response to “Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Pancakes”

  1. sheila @ Elements May 31, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    After the night you had, you definitely deserved those scrumptious looking pancakes!! I would love to have some for breakfast! 🙂

Leave a Reply

