Mixed Berry Mini-Cobblers

16 May

Whew. I finally feel like I’m settling back into a normal routine. I’m working about 5 shifts a week at the restaurant. And now I have more free time since I don’t have to spend my days job hunting. I was originally supposed to start my new job at the end of May, but it looks like it might be more like mid-June, due to slow going paper work. Thanks, Federal Government.

I took advantage of one of my days off last week to make a nice dinner for a boy. When I told him I was going to cook dinner, we had a conversation that went something like this:

Me: “Want to come over for dinner? I’ll cook!”

Him: “Sure, or we can just go out and grab a bite somewhere.”

Me: “No, I’ll make dinner!”

Him: “But I feel bad making you cook for me.”

Me: “No no no. I love to cook, I want to make dinner.”

Him: “You don’t have to cook for me, really.”

Me: “No. I am cooking. I love to cook. I want to cook. Let me cook, for the love of god.”

See, this is the problem: men think that women in the kitchen = anti-feminist. False. Denying me the thing that I love to do would be anti-feminist. When people come over and let me cook for them, I consider it them doing me a favor.

And here’s the other thing. I know that when I cook you dinner, you feel like you should do the dishes as a thank you. But see, I secretly don’t want you to, because I’m worried you’ll break something, and won’t get my dishes as clean as I want them. Yeah, I’m a perfectionist and a control-freak in the kitchen. This is just how I am. Instead, you should probably just take me out to my favorite restaurant sometime.

Anyway, for dinner we had my favorite homemade tomato sauce over fettuccine, and these awesome little cobblers for dessert.

In my opinion, frozen berries work just fine in a recipe like this. But if you want to splurge on fresh, more power to ya!

I know I’ve talked about how I usually use my hands when I mix together a biscuit dough, this time I used my fancy little Williams Sonoma pastry cutter. Just because.

So. Let’s talk cobbler theory for a minute. There are cakey cobblers out there, which are also delicious. But this cobbler has a biscuity topping, it’s not very sweet, but it’s by far my favorite. And while you could make this as one big cobbler and scoop out servings, I think it’s fun to have individual servings in cute little ramekins. Plus, when you put a big scoop of vanilla ice cream on top, it melts down into the cobbler to create a heavenly mixture of creaminess and fruitiness. Life changing.

Also: in case you don’t want to share these, here’s what I suggest. Mix up the berry filling and divide it between four ramekins. Cover with plastic wrap and store in the fridge until you want to eat them. Then put the dough in a plastic bag and put in the fridge. When you want a cobbler, pull out one ramekin, top it with the dough, and pop it in the oven. Repeat. Repeat again. Repeat one more time. Crap, now you’re out of cobbler, better make some more.

See what I mean about the melding of creamy and fruity? My mouth is watering.

Going…going….

Gone.

Mixed Berry Mini Cobblers
Inspired by Pioneer Woman
Serves 4

Print this recipe!

3 cups fresh or frozen mixed berries (black berries, raspberries, blueberries)
1/4 cups plus 3 Tbps sugar
1 Tbsp corn starch
1/2 Tbsp lemon juice
1/4 whole zest of lemon

1 cup flour
1/8 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
2 Tbsp vegetable shortening
2 Tbsp butter
1 egg yolk
1/4 cups milk

2 cups vanilla ice cream

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Combine blackberries, 1/4 cup sugar, corn starch, lemon juice, and lemon zest in a mixing bowl. Divide equally among four 1-cup ramekins or other small oven-proof serving dishes.

In a medium bowl, mix together flour, salt, baking powder, and 1/2 tablespoon sugar. Cut in shortening and butter with pastry cutter or your hands until the mixture is coarse. Pour 1/4 cup milk into a large measuring cup, add the egg yolk, and mix together. Pour into flour mixture, stirring as you go. Mixture should be smooth and not dry, but not too sticky. Try not to over mix.

Pull off clumps of dough and place them on top of the berries. No need to be uniform here. Lightly flatten dough with your fingertips and sprinkle with 2 to 3 tablespoons of sugar. Bake until golden for 20 minutes. Let cool for a few minutes so no one burns their hands. Then top with ½ cup vanilla ice cream for each dish and enjoy!

3 Responses to “Mixed Berry Mini-Cobblers”

  1. laura May 16, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    omgee i feel the same way. i prefer cooking every time! last night i washed m’s dishes before he got home and we had to have a “talk” about it. what he doesn’t know is that i love cooking and cleaning just about as much as he loves.. well, not cooking and cleaning. so it works out perfectly..

  2. thedrivencook May 16, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    Wow these look awesome. I love the messy look- so real life! I don’t like “posed” food photos. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Father’s Day! « the sgk - June 19, 2011

    […] making something special for your dad tonight? How about some Braised Short Ribs? Or make him a Berry Cobbler for dessert. Don’t forget the vanilla ice […]

Leave a Reply

