Black Bean Quesadilla

25 Apr

True story: I eat a lot of quesadillas. Usually I just make a simple cheese ‘dilla for lunch. But yesterday I decided to go for something more substantial.

The reason I needed more substance was this: I got a job. It’s just a job, not a job job.  I’m still looking for a job job, but for now, I’m making money working as a hostess at a Mediterranean restaurant in my neighborhood. Since I work over the dinner hour, I have to eat a big mid-afternoon meal before my shift or else I’m starving by 11pm.  This quesadilla definitely kept me full all evening (and then my manager ended up giving me some lamb quesadilla at the end of my shift, so I kind of ate an absurd amount of quesadilla yesterday).

Being a hostess has been great so far, it’s not too complicated, and I get half-off meals after my shift, which is awesome. Even once I get a job job, I’m going to keep a few shifts a week at the restaurant just to give me a little extra cushion in my bank account (especially after five months of being unemployed).

If there was ever a picture that fully described me as a person it is this one:

The one thing I always have in my fridge is a huge block of colby jack cheese. So good.

And I’m probably a little heavy-handed with my cheese application. Feel free to be healthier than I am and use less.

I’m going to share my super secret guac recipe with you:

Just kidding. I didn’t have time before work to make guac, so I just used a packaged mix. I added some extra red onion…and at least it’s organic? Not as good as the real thing, but still pretty darn tasty.

Black Bean Quesadillas
Serves 2

Print this recipe!

4 small flour tortillas (or 2 large flour tortillas)
3/4 cup shredded Colby jack cheese
½ medium red onion, diced
1 Tbsp vegetable oil
¼ cup black beans, drained and rinsed (more or less depending on your personal love of black beans)
Guacamole, salsa, sour cream or whatever else you like to put on your quesadillas

In a medium skillet, heat oil over medium heat. Add diced onions and cook until soft, about 5 minutes. Set aside.

Turn heat down to medium low, and put one of the tortillas in the same skillet. Top with half the cheese, half the onions, and half the black beans. Cover with another tortilla and turn the heat back up to medium. Cook until brown, flip, and cook until other side is brown. If the tortillas are browning to quickly, lower the heat.

Remove from heat, slice into quarters or sixths, top with guac, and burn the roof of your mouth on the cheese because you refuse to wait a few extra seconds to let it cool. At least that’s what I did.

7 Responses to “Black Bean Quesadilla”

  1. Amber April 26, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    I loved working at a restaurant (I was a pantry chef). Probably my favorite job of all time. Besides being a full time mommy now. LOL. Have fun. My brother worked his regular job and then picked up hours from the restaurant waiting tables on weekends. He would make at least $300 (if not more like $400) from Friday and Saturday nights. Just be really REALLY good to your customers, many people tip 20% when they get good service. 🙂

  2. what katie's baking April 30, 2011 at 1:18 am #

    my mouth is watering!!!
    i want some so i can eat an absurd amount too!!!

  3. Quesadilla Fan May 2, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    They look absolutely delicious. I can’t resist black bean quesadillas with lots of melted cheese! Yummy 🙂

  4. Kelly May 2, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    Mmm this looks delicious! I really love your blog and I’m looking forward to future posts 🙂 Thanks for sharing!
    http://cookskinny.blogspot.com/

  5. Tracy May 5, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    Your quesadillas look delicious! Yum!

  6. Katie May 9, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    What happened to you? It’s been so long!

  7. Jessica Tholmer May 10, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    Your food is my soulmate.

Leave a Reply

