Lemon Ricotta and Mango Muffins

5 Apr

I’m gonna get real with you for a minute. But there are really delicious muffins at the end if you stick with me. It’ll totally be worth it, I promise.

Being let go from your job sucks. It just does. When I called my mom the day I found out I was being let go, she told me she had heard that losing your job is like going through the grieving process. I brushed off the idea as silly. I was upset, but figured it’d pass pretty quickly.

But it’s true. I’ve been in denial, I’ve been angry, I’ve been bitter, I’m not sure I’m to the stage of accepting it yet, either. When I tell people I’m unemployed, they say how jealous they are, because it must be so great to have all this free time, to not have to wake up every day to go into the office. Hearing someone say it must be great to not have to go into the office is like hearing someone say “it must be great your dog died, now you don’t have to deal with feeding it and walking it every day.” Yeah, I have a lot of free time. A lot of free time to feel crappy.

But on that note, it’s been great to have the chance to volunteer more with Martha’s Table and 826DC. I had my first shift as an 826DC Museum of Unnatural History docent yesterday, and it’s a blast. If you are ever in the DC area, you should stop by. I guarantee you’ll get a good laugh out of the exhibits. And I’m really going to miss McKenna’s Wagon when I’m back to working a 9-5.

Being unemployed has also given me the flexibility to take some fun trips. I got to visit my college roommate in Boston twice, and I’m currently on a bus somewhere between Chicago and Normal going home to spend a few days with my parents. So I guess the moral of the story is that in these situations, it’s really important to find ways to fill your time that make you happy.

I woke up early this morning and did an inventory of what I needed to either eat, throw away, or give to my roommates before I left so it wouldn’t spoil. My roommate got my leftover Zucchini Ricotta Galette and half an avocado. I threw away leftover beans and a mostly squishy pear. I had some ricotta leftover from the galette, half a lemon, and a mango I had forgotten about, seemly unrelated, until I remembered the Blackberry Lemon Ricotta Muffins that Two Peas and Their Pod posted a few days ago. No blackberries, but the mango would do just fine in a pinch.

I even had time to run out and pick up my dry cleaning while the muffins were in the oven. A successful morning indeed.

I agree with Maria and Josh over at TPATP, these are the best muffins I’ve ever had. Make them. Share them. The ricotta makes them amazingly moist, and even without the fruit, the lemon flavor would be totally delicious, but the mango added just a little something extra. I can’t wait to try them with blackberries and raspberries.

Lemon Ricotta Mango Muffins
Adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod

Makes 12 Muffins

2 cups all-purpose flour
½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
¾ tsp salt
1 cup granulated sugar
zest of 1 lemon
½ cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup ricotta cheese
1 large egg
1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 fresh mangos, diced

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 12 muffin tins with paper liners.

In a medium bowl, mix together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

Pour sugar into a small bowl and zest lemon into it. Use a fork to mash zest into sugar.

In an electric mixer, beat together butter and lemon zest sugar until creamy. Add ricotta and beat until smooth. Beat in egg, lemon juice and vanilla extract.

Add dry ingredients and mix until just blended. Divide half of the batter into the 12 muffin cups. Top muffins with diced mango, and use the rest of the batter to fill the cups and cover the mango.

Bake for 20 minutes, until tops are slightly golden. Let cool for 5 minutes and enjoy!

6 Responses to “Lemon Ricotta and Mango Muffins”

  1. kristinsweets April 5, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    I’m sorry you got laid off. Life is such a bummer when it hits you in the face sometimes. I hope you bounce back soon! The thought of your muffins sure put a smile on my face, can’t wait to try them! You should try the Sour Cream Berry Muffins on my page, maybe they can make you smile too 🙂

  2. Chery April 6, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    These muffins sound so yummy…I can’t wait to try this recipe. I’m enjoying reading your blog ever since you posted the link on facebook. I too am sorry you got laid off but I know you’re going to find a terrific job very soon…after all, who wouldn’t want to hire a gifted individual like you?

  3. Erin @ A Nesting Experience April 13, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    Wow! These look super tasty. I have a container of ricotta in my fridge right now. I may have to buy a mango on my way home from work and make these tonight!

  4. sheila @ Elements April 30, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    Yum Yum Yum!!! What a wonderfully, unusual, and creative combination that sounds so incredibly delicious!! I wish I had some ricotta so I could make some for breakfast tomorrow! 🙂

  5. Stefanie August 16, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    yum! These sound great! I have some frozen raspberries so I might do that instead of mango.

Leave a Reply

