Rosemary Roasted Red Potatoes

7 Feb

On Saturday, I was sitting on the couch a few hours into a Glee marathon when I decided I really wanted a steak. Had to have one. Maybe it’s the 8K training talking, but this hankering could not be ignored. Luckily, I live a few blocks from an inexpensive organic store (no, really, it’s cheaper than the regular supermarket), so I just bopped on down the street and grabbed a steak, a few red potatoes, and a bag of frozen green beans (all the while dreaming of the wonderful summer Saturdays when there is a farmer’s market a mere block from my apartment. Those are the days.)

After getting home and watching a few more hours of Glee (I had never watched the show until this marathon, but I’m kind of hooked now), I headed to the kitchen. Obviously we don’t need any recipes on my green beans. Pot. Water. Beans. Salt. Pepper. Bam.

And, here’s a confession: this was my FIRST TIME ever cooking myself a steak. So, I didn’t do anything fancy. Olive oil. Salt. Pepper. Hot skillet. Just check out the smoke coming off of that baby. My kitchen smelled AMAZING.

To go along with the steak, I just crushed a clove of garlic into a tablespoon of butter, and mashed it up with a fork. I tossed a little in with the green beans as well. And then I toasted some bread and put the garlic butter on that too. Can you ever really have enough butter and garlic? The answer is no. No you cannot.


The potatoes are actually excessively easy as well, and barely necessitate a recipe. This is how my mom always prepares red potatoes to go along with a meat dish. And something about those cute little red potatoes just makes them seem perfect for a single girl.

Rosemary Roasted Red Potatoes
From my mama’s kitchen

1-2 red potatoes
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp salt
1 tsp fresh ground pepper
1-2 tbsp fresh chopped rosemary (But let’s be real, it’s February, my herb garden is a block of ice. I used dried. You gotta do what you gotta do.)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
Scrub potatoes and cut into 1 inch cubes. Toss with olive oil, salt, pepper, and rosemary.
Roast in oven for 20-25 minutes, or until potatoes start to brown around the edges.

Whew. Wasn’t that hard? You should probably go watch another few hours of Glee to recover.

And while we are talking delicious food, I made this pineapple meringue pie from the Tasty Kitchen blog for a Super Bowl party and it totally knocked my socks off. I’m not a huge pineapple fan. I like it dried (when it’s basically just pineapple flavored sugar), but I never crave it fresh.

This pie, however, is so good that after eating three slices at the party and having a stomach ache all night because of it, I woke up and wanted to make another one so I could have another three slices. Please find an excuse to make it right now. Any excuse will do. The mail came today? Sounds like you need to make this pie to celebrate.

2 Responses to “Rosemary Roasted Red Potatoes”

  1. Lane February 9, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    Wow a steak! I am impressed, champ! I have never cooked one either. Great blog, keep it up!

  2. Elena February 11, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    I love the pinneaple meringue pie…..

Leave a Reply

