Balsamic Onion and Mushroom Flatbread

21 Jan

I had barely recovered from Monday night’s meal when I decided I needed to treat myself to one more restaurant week meal. The weather was beautiful, so I walked downtown (just a short little half hour jaunt), and met a good friend for lunch at my favorite restaurant in the city, Acadiana. (Yet another restaurant related to my last boyfriend. I ate there for the first time when his dad came to visit and took us out to eat. We went back many times, for special occasions, when family visited, and it is still my favorite.)

We started off feasting on their amazing biscuits, served with cream cheese and pepper jam that is beyond words. For an appetizer, I had their Blue Crab and Corn Soup. This is how good it is: I don’t like soup, but this is one of my favorite dishes in the world. Then I had planned to order Shrimp and Grits as my entrée, but at the last second, I changed my mind and got their BBQ Boneless Short Ribs. Best spur of the moment decision ever. It was served with collard greens and mac and cheese. Comfort food taken to a whole new level. And dessert was a Mint Chocolate Cake, served with mint ice cream. It was out of this world. And the best part? This entire three course lunch was only twenty dollars. It’s criminal.

Now that restaurant week is coming to a close, it means I’m back in charge of thinking up my own delicious meals. Luckily, I found some yummy looking garlic naan at the grocery store and just decided to go ahead and throw a few of my favorite foods on top and call it a flatbread. This is another meal you can really adjust to what you have around the kitchen and what you like. I happen to love onions and mushrooms sautéed in balsamic vinegar (or red wine would also be great). In my opinion, you can never have enough cheese, but if that’s not your thing, kick it to the curb!

Balsamic Onion and Mushroom Flatbread

Makes 2 servings.

Garlic (or plain) naan (they have it at Target, if you happen to live near one of those Targets that have a grocery section)
10-15 cherry or grape tomatoes
2 tbsp Olive oil
1 tsp salt
4 tbsp balsamic vinegar
Mozzarella cheese, sliced or cubed or shredded
½ small onion, sliced
¾ cup sliced mushrooms

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place tomatoes on baking sheet lined with foil and drizzle with 1 tbsp olive oil. Sprinkle with salt. Roast tomatoes in oven for 10-15 minutes, or until they start to shrivel up.

While tomatoes roast, sauté onions and mushrooms in medium skillet over medium heat with 1 tbsp olive oil. Add 4 tbsp balsamic vinegar and continue to cook for 10 minutes, until onions and mushrooms are soft.

Place naan on baking sheet, intersperse mozzarella and roasted tomatoes, and top with the onions and mushrooms. Place naan back in 400 degree oven for 5-10 minutes, until mozzarella begins to melt. Let cool a few minutes before slicing and serving.

Leave a Reply

