Easy Lemon and Garlic Roasted Broccoli

14 Jan

Confession: I’m not a huge broccoli fan. But I love this dish.

Other confession: I’ve watched way too much Say Yes to the Dress this week. But TLC just keeps playing episodes! What am I supposed to do? (Turn off the TV? Or change the channel? Okay, yeah, those both would have been reasonable choices.)

This dish reminds me of summer. And summer means playing softball in the evening while getting eaten alive by mosquitoes. And drinking a beer on the back deck. And being completely drenched in sweat after walking two blocks to get to the metro. And I love it. But just because this is a summery dish doesn’t mean you can chow down on it in January when the snow is coming down outside and the drafty old windows in your apartment are making your bedroom a cool 60 degrees. In fact, it can brighten up your day and get you looking forward to those warm, romance-filled summer nights.

I love this recipe because it has so few ingredients, so I can almost always walk into my kitchen and throw this together. It makes a great side dish with dinner, though I have been known to occasionally roast up a whole head of broccoli and consume the entire thing for dinner. Let’s just say getting enough fiber is not one of my concerns.


Adapted from A Cozy Kitchen, where it was adapted from the Barefoot Contessa via Amateur Gourmet

1-2 cups broccoli florets (however much you want to eat! This recipe is flexible)
1-2 tbsp olive oil
1-2 tbps fresh lemon juice
2 garlic cloves
Grated Parmesan cheese: However much you need to be happy (Confession: I added more to mine after I took the picture. I didn’t want you to judge my cheese addiction.)
Salt
Pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Make sure broccoli florets are completely dry, or else they will end up chewy. Toss florets in olive oil, salt and pepper.

Peel the garlic and slice the cloves in half, toss into a roasting dish with the broccoli.

Roast broccoli and garlic in oven for 15-20 minutes, until they start to get a little blackened on the tips. Remove from oven, and sprinkle with lemon juice and Parmesan. (You can discard the garlic, it is just there to impart flavor. Or you could find another use for it, like making a roasted garlic spread for your baguette. The world is your garlicky oyster.)

Eat as soon as it’s cool enough to not burn your mouth. Dream of swimming pools and butterflies.

One Response to “Easy Lemon and Garlic Roasted Broccoli”

  1. sheila @ Elements January 22, 2011 at 1:58 am #

    This recipe is almost exactly how my grandmother made her famous Italian broccoli except she didn’t bake hers. Nor did she add Parmesan cheese to hers.

    Me…I cover mine in Parmesan, and like you, I also added more to mine after I took the photo. Hmmmm…great minds think alike! 🙂 Trust me, I don’t judge your cheese addiction ’cause I got one too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

