Mom’s Buttermilk Biscuits

12 Jan

Are you ready? It’s my first recipe post here in the Single Girl’s Kitchen. I want it to be special. We have so much to learn about each other still. I’m a little nervous…it’s like a first date.

So…where did you grow up?  What did you study in college?

Okay, let’s skip the awkward line of questioning and get to the biscuits. I think “get to the biscuits” would make an excellent new slang phrase, it can take the place of “cut to the chase.”

“Hey, buddy, how about you stop wasting my time and just get to the biscuits?”

Right. Biscuits. Buttermilk.

These biscuits are one of the first recipes I remember getting to help my mom with when I was growing up, I’d get to mix together the dry ingredients, and my mom would let me use my fingers to mix in the butter. To this day, I still use my hands when mixing in butter in this recipe, in pie crusts, etc. Pastry cutters are overrated. The trick is just to be quick and not overwork it. You don’t want the butter to start melting. It probably helps that my hands are eternally freezing. If you have clammy hands, you might just want to get that pastry cutter out. Luckily, I only get clammy hands on dates and during job interviews. And usually I’m not making biscuits during job interviews. Usually.

And let’s just get this out of the way now: I didn’t use buttermilk when I made these. I was going to buy buttermilk to make buttermilk chocolate chip pancakes for this guy for a fun breakfast for dinner thing…but turns out he wasn’t interested. In pancakes, or in me.

So I didn’t buy buttermilk. But when I think I’m going to buy buttermilk, I plan to make all my buttermilk recipes that week, so even before my pancake rejection, I had already started thinking about these biscuits. And once these biscuits are in your head, they do not want to leave.

Luckily, the lovely Joy the Baker posted a few tips on turning regular milk into a buttermilk substitute. My recipe includes the technique I used, and it turned out fabulously. But if you don’t have fresh lemon juice on hand, check out her other tips.

I should also confess that normally, I don’t even have regular milk around the house. I’m a weirdo and I don’t drink milk. It all stems from my mom being convinced I was lactose intolerant as a kid. I wasn’t, but it was too late for me and milk to get over our differences. I also don’t keep cereal in the apartment, because we had this nasty pantry moth infestation over the summer, and I’ve been terrified of keeping any wheat products around that aren’t in air tight containers. Luckily, I decided to make some chocolate pudding the other day, so I had leftover whole milk that was sitting sad and lonely in the fridge, just waiting to be turned into buttermilk for these biscuits.

Sorry. I think I might be over-sharing for our first date. Pantry moths, and potential lactose intolerance, and my tendency to get handsy with biscuit dough…at least I haven’t started telling you about all my ex’s yet.

Before that happens, let’s get to the recipe. I’ve scaled this one down so that it makes a neat 3 biscuits. Perfect if you want to have two alongside dinner, and wrap the other one up for breakfast tomorrow! I’m also including the recipe that makes a half dozen, in case you have need for that and would rather not do the math.

 

For 3 biscuits

¾ cup plus 2 tbls all purpose flour
½ tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp sugar
¼ tsp baking soda
2 ½ tbls cold butter
1/3 cup buttermilk (to make, add 1/3 tablespoon fresh lemon juice to 1/3 cup whole milk, stir and let sit for 2 minutes)

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Sift together dry ingredients.

Using fingers or pastry cutter, cut in cold butter.

Add the buttermilk gradually and mix gently, just until blended. Do not overmix. You may not need the full 1/3 cup, add until dough comes together, but isn’t overly sticky.

Now you have two options: The simple way is to just drop biscuits onto a greased cookie sheet. You can also pat out dough on a cutting board to about 1 inch thickness and cut with round biscuit/cookie cutters and place on greased cookie sheet. Dropping them makes more rustic looking biscuits, using a cookie cutter will give you more uniform, professional looking biscuits. Both will taste delicious.

Bake for 10-12 minutes, until they start to turn lightly golden brown.

Add a generous dollop of apple butter and place in mouth.

For 6 biscuits

1 ¾ cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp sugar
½ tsp baking soda
5 tbls cold butter
2/3 cup buttermilk

2 Responses to “Mom’s Buttermilk Biscuits”

  1. Valerie Benavidez January 31, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    Congratulations on your first recipe post! You look like you off to a very good start! I am definitely going to be reading your blog. You go girl!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chicken Parmesan « the single girl's kitchen - February 15, 2011

    […] But in our household, we just ate the chicken part of the equation, usually with rice, and some sort of veggie, and that’s how I like it. I think some sauteed zucchini sprinkled with some extra parmesan would be just peachy with this. Since I’m training for an 8k, and I now use that as an excuse to eat whatever I want (I think I might be doing this wrong…), I made up some of my mom’s delicious buttermilk biscuits. […]

Leave a Reply

