Corn and Crab Soup

18 Aug

This is what usually happens. I get an idea for a recipe, I get all the ingredients, make the recipe, then have a few left over ingredients, so I try to think of something else I can make with that ingredient, decide on something, go buy the rest of the ingredients I need for it, make it, have a new leftover ingredient, try to think of what I can make from that, etc…It’s a vicious (and delicious) cooking cycle.

My roommate left a magazine with healthy recipes laying open on the counter, so I glanced at it and saw a recipe for a salad with crab, corn, black beans, tortilla chips, and lime dressing. It looked fantastic. So I bought crab, corn, black beans, tortilla chips and lime. And it was delicious.

But then I still had this very large tub of fresh crab in my fridge. I needed a good way to use a lot of crab quickly. Crab cakes were the obvious solution, but I had a cold at the time, and wanted something more soothing.

So I decided to attempt to recreate my favorite crab and corn soup from Acadiana. I stopped by the store on my way home from work, got all the necessary ingredients, busted out my favorite teal colored dutch oven, and made soup. (Confession: this was the first time I’ve ever made soup. I don’t even really like soup. I only like Acadiana’s crab and corn soup.)

Verdict: It was pretty good. It needed tweaking. One of my friends like to joke that I don’t like “flavor.” Aka I don’t like spicy food. It’s true. My mouth is super sensitive to spicy foods, and they just make eating uncomfortable rather than enjoyable. (Plus, I grew up in the midwest. Meat and potatoes are rarely prepared with a lot of spice). But this is one case where I will admit that this recipe needs more zoot. I didn’t include the jalapeno. I’ve never cooked with jalapeno in my life. The stuff terrifies me. But if I did it again, I’d use it. The soup needs it.

And luckily, I’m going to Acadiana for lunch tomorrow (it’s DC Restaurant week!!!!) so I can hopefully indulge in the real deal to remind myself why I sometimes pay a lot of money for really exceptional food at a restaurant.

Also, I apologize, this is one of the few times I made a recipe for the blog after work, so I was losing light really quickly. The photos didn’t turn out great.

Corn and Crab Soup
Serves 4
1 tablespoons butter or margarine
2 Tbsp cornmeal
1/2 medium onion, diced
1/2 red bell pepper, diced
1 jalapeno, diced (include seeds for more spice)
3 ears fresh sweet corn kernels
2 1/4 cups chicken broth
2 corncobs (use the ones you just cut the corn off of!)
1/2 pound fresh lump crabmeat, drained
1/2 cup whipping cream
1 tsp old bay seasoning
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground white pepper
Melt butter in Dutch oven over medium heat; whisk in cornmeal, and cook, whisking constantly, 1 minute. Add onion, bell pepper, jalapeno and sweet corn kernels, and saute for two minutes. Add the broth and corncobs. Bring to a boil; reduce heat, and simmer for 30 minutes. Remove and discard corncobs. Stir in crabmeat, whipping cream, old bay, salt and pepper. Cook until thoroughly heated, about 5 more minutes. Serve with warm crusty baguette for dipping!
(My other thought was to use chipotle peppers instead of jalapeno…I think it might be interesting. If someone tries it, let me know how it tastes!)
3 Responses to “Corn and Crab Soup”

  1. chicaandaluza August 18, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    One of my favourite soups – this looks so creamy and delicious!

  2. Jacque August 18, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2010/10/corn-chowder-with-chilies/

    this one is DELICIOUS, and uses chipotle chilies, I love to make it when it starts to get cold. :)

    • Ella @ The Single Girl's Kitchen August 19, 2011 at 11:57 am #

      a) that looks totally delicious. i’m making it asap.
      b) it’s funny, because she does things in a different order. mine you add the corn meal first, and don’t add cream until after you simmer it. she adds the cream before simmering, and the corn meal at the end. i always thought you shouldn’t let cream get too close to boiling, but PW knows best…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

